ARRESTED FOR DUI AFTER JULY 1, 2017? THIS IS WHAT YOU MUST DO IN ORDER TO OBTAIN AN IGNITION INTERLOCK PERMIT.
Posted by Ben Sessions | | Uncategorized
WERE YOU ARRESTED FOR DUI AFTER JULY 1, 2017? THERE ARE SOME REALLY IMPORTANT CHANGES TO GEORGIA DUI LAW THAT YOU SHOULD KNOW.
If you were arrest for DUI after July 1, 2017, this is what you must do in order to obtain an ignition interlock permit:
- Waive your right to administrative hearing;
- Have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle;
- Application for the permit must be made with DDS within 30 days of the person being served notice of the ALS by the arresting officer through the DS-1205 form, or—in the event of a DS-1205S form—within 30 days of receiving such notice of the ALS from DDS;
- The ALS/DUI arrest cannot stem from a motor vehicle accident involving fatalities or serious injuries;
- The person must be licensed in Georgia and not have any other suspensions, cancellations, or revocations against his or her Georgia driver’s license;
- If you have a Georgia commercial driver’s license (CDL), you must downgrade to a non-commercial Georgia driver’s license in order to obtain and maintain the permit;
- The person cannot have any prior convictions for DUI in the 5-year period preceding application for the permit;
- Turn in/surrender your Georgia driver’s license either to the arresting officer at time of arrest or to DDS prior to issuance of the permit; and,
- Pay a $25.00 permit fee.
If you have questions regarding your Georgia DUI charge and the license consequences potentially accompanying your DUI, contact The Sessions Law Firm today.