Drivers License Suspension For a DUI Charge in Georgia
Posted by Ben Sessions | | Uncategorized
People frequently ask me about the drivers license suspension for a DUI charge in Georgia. With one exception is no immediate drivers license suspension for a DUI charge in Georgia. An arrest and subsequent charge for DUI does not trigger an immediate drivers license suspension. However, there are a few basic rules that should be followed following a DUI charge in order to minimize the drivers license suspension consequences that may follow:
- There is no immediate drivers license suspension for a DUI charge in Georgia. However, most people arrested for DUI in Georgia do receive a DDS Form 1205. The Form 1205 is your notice that the State intends to suspend your license as a result of your refusal of the blood, breath, or urine test, or your submission to testing that showed an alcohol concentration greater than the legal limit.
- The Form 1205 is an administrative license suspension notice. An administrative license suspension may occur prior to a criminal conviction.
- If you receive a Form 1205, you must submit a request for hearing within 10 business days or your drivers license or privilege to drive here in Georgia will be suspended.
- If you do not submit a administrative license suspension appeal letter, your drivers license will be suspended after 30 days.
If you have questions about the impact of a DUI charge upon your Georgia drivers license or privilege to drive in Georgia, contact our Georgia DUI Defense Attorneys at The Sessions Law Firm.
Blog Post Provided By:
3155 Roswell Rd., Ste. 220