Georgia DUI License Suspension – The Form 1205
Posted by Ben Sessions | | Uncategorized
Most people charged with a DUI in Georgia receive a DDS Form 1205. The Form 1205 serves as a temporary driver’s license when signed by the officer. The temporary permit is valid for 30 days after the date of arrest – unless a request for hearing is filed upon the suspension.
A temporary permit is not issued by the arresting officer if a DUI suspect does not possess a valid license at the time of arrest.
A DDS Form 1205 is issued if a suspect is arrested for violating Georgia’s DUI law (O.C.G.A. §40-6-391), the arresting officer requests a state-administered chemical test, and:
– the driver refused implied consent, OR
– chemical tests indicated a BAC of .08 grams or more for a driver 21 years of age or older, OR
– chemical tests indicated a BAC of .02 grams or more for a driver under 21 years of age, OR
– chemical tests indicated a BAC of .04 grams or more for a driver operating a commercial motor
For more information on Georgia DUI driver’s license suspensions, visit our home page here.
This post is provided by:
The Sessions Law Firm3155 Roswell Rd., Ste. 220