Alpharetta Underage Possession of Alcohol Charge
Alpharetta Minor in Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
If you or your child faces an Alpharetta underage possession of alcohol charge, contact Sessions & Fleischman to consult with a lawyer that is experienced in effectively dealing with these cases and has an established track record of providing exceptions results to clients facing these offenses. Our Alpharetta Minor in Possession of Alcohol Lawyer is here to work with you on your case.
What happens if you get caught drinking under 21 in the State of Georgia?
A conviction of a minor in possession of alcohol in Georgia will be treated as a misdemeanor. In Georgia, the punishment for the first conviction of misdemeanor MIP includes a fine of up to $300, jail time up to 6 months, or both. However, lawyers are able to negotiate a dismissal of charges in exchange for community service, alcohol and drug evaluation, and more. It is critical to hire an Alpharetta Minor in Possession of Alcohol Lawyer due to their capability to negotiate for alternative punishment that will not devastate the minor future life. By pleading guilty this offense will remain on the criminal record of the individual.
It is important to note a conviction for MIP in Georgia does not automatically come with a license suspension. However, the court does have the discretion and authority to order a license suspension or force you to complete an alcohol and drug risk reduction program within 120 days of the conviction.
What is The Official Code of Georgia Annotated for underage possession of alcohol?
O.C.G.A. § 3-3-23(a) Except as otherwise authorized by law:
(1) No person knowingly, directly or through another person, shall furnish, cause to be furnished, or permit any person in such person’s employ to furnish any alcoholic beverage to any person under 21 years of age;
(2) No person under 21 years of age shall purchase, attempt to purchase, or knowingly possess any alcoholic beverage;
(3) No person under 21 years of age shall misrepresent such person’s age in any manner whatever for the purpose of obtaining illegally any alcoholic beverage;
(4) No person knowingly or intentionally shall act as an agent to purchase or acquire any alcoholic beverage for or on behalf of a person under 21 years of age; or
(5) No person under 21 years of age shall misrepresent his or her identity or use any false identification for the purpose of purchasing or obtaining any alcoholic beverage.
Alpharetta Underage Possession of Alcohol Charge: Impact on Scholarships, Grants, and Admissions
An Alpharetta underage possession of alcohol charge can have a significant impact on education and employment possibilities. Many scholarships, grants, and even offers of admission to colleges and universities may be impacted by underage possession of alcohol charges. It is important that the appropriate level of care and attention be committed to these charges to minimize the repercussions on educational opportunities.
Our Alpharetta, Georgia criminal defense attorneys regularly obtain dismissal and significant reduction of charges for people facing Alpharetta’s underage possession of alcohol charges. There is simply no reason to risk the long-term consequences of an alcohol-related conviction when there is a viable opportunity to avoid the conviction being your record.
What Evidence is Sufficient to be Charged and Convicted of MIP in Georgia?
The police officer only needs to testify that the odor of alcohol was present on your breath which could be enough for a charge and conviction if you are under the age of 21. A conviction for MIP lives forever on your criminal record and may have ramifications on your school record as well.
Also, a Minor in Possession (MIP) conviction may lead to the suspension of your driver’s license. A conviction for Minor in Possession of Alcohol in Georgia will result in a 6-month suspension of your driver’s license without any permit to drive of any kind. That includes no permit to drive to work or school. The risks to your lifestyle and future are very severe.
What if I was Caught Driving Under the Influence?
Georgia drinking laws make it illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to possess or consume any amount of alcohol. If you are arrested for drinking and driving as a minor, you can be charged for underage DUI as well as minor in possession, or MIP.
The penalties for underage alcohol use depend primarily upon whether you are charged with a DUI or a non-DUI offense. If the act is treated as a non-DUI offense such as possession of alcohol under 21, you have a much better chance of keeping your driver’s license than if you are charged with a DUI offense. If you were not driving at the time of your arrest, an underage alcohol possession charge will not cause a license suspension.
Not only is Sessions & Fleischman successful in MIP cases but Ben Sessions is 1 of 4 DUI attorneys in the state of Georgia to attain Board Certification through the National College for DUI Defense which is the only organization sanctioned by the American Bar Association to issue the Board Certification status.
Alpharetta Minor in Possession of Alcohol Charge: Impact on Criminal History and Employment Possibilities
A charge of underage possession of alcohol is a criminal offense that may appear upon your permanent criminal history if it is not dealt with properly. A criminal record, particularly one involving any type of alleged substance abuse, can cause difficulties with future employment.
These possible ramifications can be avoided if the case is simply dealt with appropriately at the outset. Contact Sessions & Fleischman for a free consultation regarding your charge.
Get Your Free Consultation Today to talk to an Alpharetta Minor in Possession of Alcohol Lawyer!
Sessions & Fleischman is here to help you gain the best verdict for your conviction. Our law office has years of experience working with clients and always keeping them up to date on their cases and giving them the best legal advice. Give us a phone call at (470) 225-7710 or visit our contact us page to provide us with details on your case.